Obama signs SC disaster declaration - WCIV-TV | ABC News 4 - Charleston News, Sports, Weather

Bookmark and Share

Obama signs SC disaster declaration

Posted: Updated:

WASHINGTON (WCIV) – President Barack Obama on Wednesday declared a major disaster in South Carolina and ordered federal aid to be directed to the state as it cleans up from the ice storms in February.

The funding is being made available to state and local governments and some nonprofit groups for emergency work and repairs of areas damaged by the winter storms. The counties covered by the federal declaration are Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Berkeley, Calhoun, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Dillon, Dorchester, Edgefield, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Marion, Orangeburg, Saluda, Sumter, and Williamsburg.

There are also cost-sharing options available for statewide programs, the White House announced.

FEMA officials said more resources may come into the state if requested.

Most Popular


Like Us On Facebook

Powered by WorldNow


888 Allbritton Dr.
Mt. Pleasant, SC 29464
843-881-4444 | Advertising Information

Public Information File

For assistance with accessing WCIV-TV's public information file, click here.


Advertising Credit Application and Terms and Conditions PDF.

Powered by WorldNow
All content Copyright © 2014 WCIV and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.